Surviving Summer

I can’t believe it’s been a month since my last post!

Summer time fun is in full effect and I haven’t had much free time to write. I spent a week in Aguadilla, Puerto Rico for my dad’s 70th Birthday.  We began the trip with a list of must see sights. After being in the relaxing mode for a few days, we realized that we should take full advantage of taking the time to truly relax. It is so rare for all of us to be in one location for that length of time. We enjoyed each other’s company and went on a few adventures that were close by. It was such a luxury to get up early every morning to enjoy the peace and quiet with my cup of coffee, and the company of my soon to be sister. An entire week to swim, jump crazy waves, drink fruity cocktails, hang with the giant iguanas, and have lots of dance parties!! Love living in the moment!

This was our backyard for a week:

IMG_3982

It was heavenly!

Here are a few pics of what we have been up to since returning home:

An afternoon at Chuck E Cheese (my least favorite place)

IMG_4158

Fun with Juggle Bubbles

IMG_4162IMG_4166

A quick visit to the Cabrillo National Monument

IMG_4113 IMG_4112

Watching my home run hubby rock it in softball.

IMG_4153 IMG_4152

Don’t you just love it when the towels are warm out of the dryer……..

IMG_4155

Here is my date night selfie. 🙂 I love this necklace from Loft.

IMG_4171

Not much time to cook at home the last few weeks, but here are a few things I have had the chance to squeeze in.

Giant Mexican shrimp from Point Loma Seafood, with roasted veggies, and orzo:

IMG_4119 IMG_4120 IMG_4122

I sautéed the shrimp in olive oil, garlic, and Ballast Point Grapefruit Sculpin. My mom gave me the idea to sprinkle a little feta cheese over the top. I served them with roasted veggies, and orzo. It was the perfect summer meal, and so easy!

IMG_4185 IMG_4184

I found the recipe for Maple Bacon Pancake Bits, and goat cheese parmesan veggie Frittata muffins on Pinterest. They were both scrumptious! You can find the Maple Bacon Pancake Bits here. Since M is allergic to eggs I use a buttermilk pancake recipe instead. You can use any pancake recipe that you love. The mushroom goat cheese Frittata cups can be found here. You can sub in any veggie or cheese that works for you. I will definitely make both recipes again, either would work great for hosting a large group for brunch.

Now on to sharing a little link love!!

-I admit to watching Girls Next Door back in the day, which is why I am dying to read this new book. I am curious to see what the appeal is with Hugh Hefner and the whole Playboy phenomenon. I thought maybe I was part of the minority, but FYI it is sold out at every Barnes and Noble in San Diego…..

-I want these and these from the Gap. Love the distressed look.

-I bought this dress from Target before our trip. Target dresses end up being my go to in the summer.

-It’s time to re-order this eyeliner for the millionth time. Love the formula! It’s the best smudgy eyeliner I have tried. I re-order Teddy and Powersurge again and again.

-Burt Bees just came out with this, same formula, and the best consistency! I stuck one in each of the kids backpacks for junior lifeguard.

-Check out, “We Tried On Victoria’s Secret Bathing Suits and This Is What Happened”.

-I recently made a few photo book gifts. In the past I have always used Shutterfly. Thanks to a recent recommendation (thanks A) I just created two books in iPhoto. They arrived on my doorstep a few days later, in the iconic Apple packaging. I LOVED the convenience of not having to upload my photos to any other website.

Hope you all are having a great summer so far!

XO,

S

Leave a Reply

