It’s Thursday, let’s chat.

Happiness is a journey, not a destination.
For a long time it seemed to me that life was about to begin – real life. But there was always some obstacle in the way, something to be gotten through first, some unfinished business, time still to be served, a debt to be paid. At last it dawned on me that these obstacles were my life. This perspective has helped me to see there is no way to happiness.
Happiness is the way.
So treasure every moment you have and remember that time waits for no one.

~ Souza

 

Someone posted this quote on Facebook the other day. How true this statement is, and oh how I can relate. All my life I figured that one day I would reach an age where I felt like what an adult was supposed to feel like. I assumed then when I got there, everything would make sense. I thought that my life’s purpose would be clear, and this idea of this amazing person I thought I would be, would just be. Somehow life has gotten in the way.

Here I am approaching my 38th birthday, and I still do not have it figured out. I still have this feeling like there is something greater out there that I am supposed to do. In the meantime while I am figuring out where my life will take me, I am living this fabulous life, surrounding by so many lovely people. Each day is a journey in MY life. I still need my mom and dad from time to time, all while my beautiful children need their mom. I still look at my husband after 16 years, and think how did I get so lucky to land such a handsome guy, who steps up to bat for me every time. I haven’t “arrived” at adulthood the way I thought I would. I don’t have this special feeling of being settled. I realize that life is about the journey, and sometimes the ride is a bit wilder than other times. I have arrived at happiness, somedays are just happier than others. 🙂

If you are like me, you beat yourself up from time to time. You question whether or not you made the right decision. You want to dance like no one is watching, but sometimes that just doesn’t feel right. You are trying to still figure out your place in this crazy world. Take comfort in knowing you are doing exactly what you are meant to do in that exact moment. Try to be a bit kinder to yourself. Try to take a moment out of your entire day to think about the good in your life, and try to remember that the road you are traveling is unique to only you, so enjoy your ride.

XO,

S

 

 

Leave a Reply

