Happy New Year!

maya-angelou-10

 

Happy New Year!

As you know, it has been a few weeks since my last post. Instead of chatting about my favorite projects and gift ideas, I decided to take a break to enjoy each and every moment of the holiday season with my family. The holiday season means so much more to me than gift buying or receiving. It is about celebrating the magic of each tradition we have grown to love. I look forward to time off with our kids, and to time spent on sharing our love of the season. I love snuggling up, and just being with each other. When I began this blogging journey, I made an agreement with myself, to only write when I felt inspired to share.

Here is a little glimpse into what I have been up to:

1. & 2. My parents gifted N and I a weekend in Portland for our anniversary. I feel so lucky to have parents that love us so much, and understand the importance of having time to be just us. We love Portland, and had the best time dating each other that weekend. It was a great way to kick-off the start of the holiday season. My brother and his fiancé make us feel so welcome, and the four of us love spending time together. If you get a chance to visit Portland, make sure you stop for a cocktail at the Teardrop Lounge. In my opinion they make the BEST hot buttered rum on this earth!!

3. This chalkboard hangs in our kitchen at home. We use it for countdowns, messages, and any creative art one might like to add to it. N happens to really get into this idea. Here is an example of something you might see from time to time.

4-10. Cookiepocolypse, or at least that is what we decided to call baking day this year. I really wanted to give a little homemade gift to all of the teachers who touch our children’s lives. Their main teachers receive lovely gifts from their students. It takes a village to give the kind of learning experience our kids are getting. This was our way of letting each person know how important their devotion to education is to us. In the process we all consumed way too much sugar, and had a great time carrying out this fun tradition.

11. N and I were on our way to a Christmas party in this pic. I love getting dressed up for a night out!

12. Each year we load up the kids in the car, head to Starbucks for hot cocoa, and a cup of whipped cream for Fiver, and hit up the lovely neighborhoods of San Diego. We have our favorite streets we visit each year.  My parents used to do this with my brother and I when we were kids. I look forward to the chaos every year!

13. This was our first year visiting the Zoo for Jungle Bells. It was a treat to see the animals at night, and the Zoo looked beautiful all lit up. I hope to keep coming back for this tradition!

14 & 15. Blue Water Grill is hands down my favorite place to get fresh seafood in San Diego. The line is always out the door, but the food is well worth the wait. I don’t get here as often as I would like, but when I do I am always reminded of yet another reason I love living here.

16, 17, 18. This Christmas break I truly enjoyed spending quality time with our kids. They are growing up so fast! I felt so strongly about really enjoying each moment with them. It is the little things in life. Each little moment spent with them has been so lovely.

19. In between bingeing on sugar, I tried to fit in a few healthy options. I discovered this brand at our local grocery store, and I will definitely be back for more. YUM!

20, 21, 22. Christmas morning is the best!! We spent the day hanging out in our PJ’s, eating the foods we only make one day a year, and loving each other. Love those smiling faces!

23. B had her BFF over for a sleepover, and she brought these fabulous jewelry temporary tattoos over for the girls to try. I have been eyeing them at Nordstrom and Sephora, and now that I have had the chance to see them in person, I can’t wait to try them! What a fun accessory!

chloe_17_w__89773.1405401834.1280.1280 H20_5__07798.1405531982.1280.1280

24. This pic symbolizes a fun night out with the kids at Way Point Public while Aunt H was in town.

25. Last but not least my favorite coffee to jumpstart my morning. Cafe Moto coffee is a bit of a drive from our house, so we always splurge for the 5 pound bag, when we make the trip. If you make it down to Barrio Logan for a visit to Cafe Moto, make sure you visit their great little coffee shop as well!

Thank you to everyone who has encouraged me to leap out of my comfort zone, and keep on pursuing what I love. 2014 was a year of major growth for our family, and I can’t wait to jump right into 2015!!

XO,

S

2 thoughts on “Happy New Year!

  1. It looks like you all had a great holiday break! Thanks for sharing, it’s awesome to see the fun had by all! 😘 Happy New Year! 🎉🎊

    Like

Leave a Reply

